Sunset at 4:30 pm!   4 comments

I still cannot get over it, but the sun just sets here at around half past four.

It is so cold here… it is quite cold and LADIES and GENTLEMEN! I saw SNOWWWWW for the very first time in my life… it was nice alll the white flakes falling slowly, LOVELY I must say.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures as it was night, and I had the IBM selection day the next day, so I was pretty much fretting about that.

Which, by the way, was great! Great as in, not my performance, but IBM is great, FYI, IBM here, is the largest IBM office in Europe… along with numerous departments and Software development Labs, it has these green hills and fields, their own club house, cafe, restaurant, tennis and badminton courts, golf course (I know I know, you must be like “and these people actually WORK here”)
Anyway, the experience was great, and they had these automatic BATHROOMS… as in the water in the tap comes out when you put your hands under it, it detects your hand and shoots water out… so does the flush… LOL…
IBM is great, I would just work for the sake of automatic bathrooms and the clubhouse… LOL, of course I am only joking, I think it is the work environment, it gives you space and social life at the same time.
There are many opportunities in Software Development and the best thing is that you will be rotated and be given hands-on experience in your first year.
Turns out, here in the GREAT UK, you need to have a TV license… yes, you got that right, a License to WATCH your TV… I swear this place is too much for me sometimes… this guy showed up on our doorstep, and said he had no records whatsoever of our TV’s license, and the TV was turned on that time (just my luck isn’t it?) so he said they could prosecute us in court because we were watching the TV without the license and that is an offense under the Communications Act of whenever… anyway when Faiz came home we had quite an argument… I was mad at him for not getting a license beforehand and him at me for letting the guy into (when I could have been robbed at knife/gun-point) our house and letting him see our TV and all…

Posted November 3, 2008 by nadiamf in London :)

4 responses to “Sunset at 4:30 pm!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FYI In pak u have a TV License as well kabhi banaya ho to pata chalay na :p

  2. Nahi yaar. TV dekhnay ka bhi license hota hai. Hadh ho gaye.. 😛 Aur computer chalanay ka????

  3. well thank god they dont ask for a license to breath, oh i remember v cant move around without a birth certificate. they dont belive that v exist without it……. ..lolz

  4. Although the winter and the snow were good enough reasons for me, those automatic bathrooms have taken the wish to be in London someday to a whole new level 😛
    good read! 🙂

Leave a comment