Free Energy Saving Pack from Debenhams- Save up to GBP 100 on utility bills   2 comments

It was this that started it all.  This incident is a good example of how people; normal and well, ‘innocent’ people fall fool for these stupid department stores’ money making schemes.

And now we were standing in Debenhams.

With this voucher in our hands.

In my husband’s hands.

And then all of a sudden he shoved it into my hands and pushed me towards the cashier.

“Excuse me??” I hissed at him.

“Go and ask the lady if she has the energy pack.”

“whhyyy??”

“It’s worth a 100 pounds, come on!! You’re getting it for free!!”

“No I am NOT… You want it…Why do you I have to ask her???”

I turned to look at him and he had mysteriously disappeared.  Oh Well!

I trudged to the counter, and handed her the voucher.

“umm do you have the energy pack?” I asked discreetly, looking for familiar faces.

“Yes we do” she gave me an almost strange look.

“Right…” I got excited. “Can I have one please?” I stated the obvious.

“Oh… you get it for free when you buy something…” SHE stated the obvious.  I stared at her.  Then took the voucher from her hands, and turned around.  I went to my husband and gave him the message.

“Now can you please buy something?”

“Well… I don’t need to buy anything…” I am one of those few freaks who leave shopping as the last thing to do in the world.  I do NOT like shopping.   Unless it’s shoes or bags or books.  And Debenhams doesn’t do good in any of those.

“Don’t you? Don’t girls need to buy something everytime they go into a shop??”

“I don’t…so I don’t, you can buy something if you like”

“Hmm… let’s go to the home section…” I agreed and we took the escalator up a level.  We roamed around but couldn’t find anything.  I think it was just one of those days… when you can’t think of anything, and a pressure to buy something was building.  I thought of any birthdays coming up.  None.  Any occasion.  Eid.  But I had all the jewelry already.

“Can you get socks? You love socks”

“Yeah you’re right…”  We went down a level.

“I already have so many socks”

“Ok then get a scarf or something, you always need new ones in winter” He made sense…and I REALLY wanted to get out of Debenhams.   I looked for scarves.

“I don’t like them… I think we can look in toys section, something for our nephew?”

“Good idea”

But we didnt like any toys either (I know, I know, I am so indecisive!!)

“CAN YOU JUST buy something alreadyyyyyy”  he was seriously annoyed.  I looked at him, intimidated by his tone of voice.  And a bit annoyed.  HE wanted the stupid energy pack.  Why was he making MY life miserable?  If only I could say all this to him 😛

I picked up a scarf and we went to the counter.  I handed the scarf and the voucher.  I paid for it.  The lady stared at the voucher, and then left.   She turned her back and bent over.  F and I both looked on eagerly at what she was getting out.

It was this.

I was shocked.  Then angry.  Then, stifled a laugh.

For THIS, THISSSS we spent 1 hour roaming around, looking to buy something. A measly cardboard box, the size of my hand.

I looked at my dear hubby, he was still looking at the lady, as if waiting for her to take out something else.  I chuckled and he looked at me in a daze.  As if to say, “what?? Whatttttttt??”  I took the stuff from the lady and we walked out of Debenhams.   When F snapped out of it, he grabbed for the shopping bag in my hand.

“NO WAY!!!! Don’t even DARE come near this!! You will NOT get this!! For a stupid box… worth 100 pounds… energy saver… I AM NOT GIVING THIS TO YOU until I see what’s inside”  He burst out laughing and I pulled out the box.

I opened it.  There was a screw and apparently a plastic bag.  THAT’s IT.

“I don’t believe it!” I shrieked.

“Can I see it? Give it to me” We both were playing a snatching game and laughing loudly.  And people were beginning to watch.

Well F got his way after some time, when I was engrossed in shopping.  He stole the box when I wasn’t looking and disappeared.  I realized that after some time and ran out of the shop after him.  He was holding up the box and quietly showed it to me.

And behind the box it said RRP (retail price)  if sold, GBP 1.00.

Posted November 1, 2010 by nadiamf in Life, some aspects of mine :), London :)

2 responses to “Free Energy Saving Pack from Debenhams- Save up to GBP 100 on utility bills

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Should’ve just paid for it! GBP 1.00 is hardly worth an hour of indecisiveness!

  2. Yup, you got taken, by a grocery store promotion.

Leave a comment